The Spirit of Detroit 60th Anniversary Celebration

Saturday May 12, 2018

The Spirit of Detroit 60th Anniversary Celebration



The Spirit of Detroit 60th Anniversary Celebration, a fundraising event to support the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum, a non-profit organization whose mission is to celebrate the artistic legacy of Marshall Fredericks through collecting, preserving, presenting, and interpreting his life’s work for the broadest possible audience. Through the Marshall Fredericks objects collection and archives, temporary exhibitions, publications, and education programs, the Museum contributes to scholarly discourse and serves diverse audiences.



Saturday, May 12, 2018, 6:00 – 10:00 p.m.



1 Woodard Avenue, across from The Spirit of Detroit sculpture.



6:00 Reception in lobby for Tier One ticket holders.

7:00 Dinner in The Beacon for Tier One ticket holders.

7:30 Reception in lobby and on patio for Tier Two ticket holders.

9:00 Guests will walk out to Spirit Plaza for The Spirit of Detroit program.



Individual Tier One tickets at $250 includes reception in 1 Woodward lobby and a sit-down dinner in The Beacon, 2nd floor. Individual Tier Two tickets at $60 includes cocktails, canapes and music in the lobby and on the patio.

Purchase tickets



The Motor City’s own jazz crooner, Ben Sharkey, will play in the lobby, 6:00-9:00 Detroit’s own Marion Hayden jazz trio will play in The Beacon, 7:00-9:00



Detroit-Wayne Joint Building Authority



Eric B. Larson, CEO Downtown Detroit Partnership and Maurice Cox, City of Detroit Planning Director



There are many sponsorship opportunities, the title sponsor being The Spirit of Detroit. Other sponsor titles will be Leaping Gazelle, Boy and Bear, The Thinker, and Victory Eagle, all well­ known Marshall Fredericks sculptures sited in Detroit, Southfield, Cranbrook Educational Community Bloomfield Hills, and Ann Arbor.

Be a Sponsor



John Gallagher, Detroit Free Press Senior Business Columnist




The Thinker

DuMouchelle Art Galleries

The Kresge Foundation


Victory Eagle

Detroit Athletic Club

Marshall Fredericks Foundation




David W. Christensen

Cohn Family Philanthropic Fund

Julie and Peter Cummings

Detroit Bikes

Foundation Hotel

Harry and Konnie Gill

Joe and Jean Hudson

Deb and Al Huntley

Jones-Keena & Co.

Liebler Group

Marriott Renaissance

McIntosh Poris Associates

MJR Mechanical

Joseph Mosey Architecture

SmithGroup JJR

The Taubman Co.

UHY Advisors

Saginaw Valley State University

William and Susan Vititoe

Marilyn L. Wheaton and Paul Duffy

400 Monroe Associates